Raymond DuBois


Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC


Dean, College of Medicine
Director, Hollings Cancer Center
Distinguished University Professor
Charles W. Coker Endowe


B.S. Biochemistry (Honors) Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas (1977)
Ph.D. Biochemistry University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, Texas (1981)
M.D. University of Texas Health at San Antonio, Texas (1985)
Osler Medicine Internship Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, Maryland (1985-88)
& Residency
Gastroenterology Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, Maryland (1988-91)


May 1991 American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) Industry Research Scholar
March 1992 Boehringer-Ingelheim New Investigator Award
April 1994 AFCR Henry Christian Award for Excellence in Research
Feb. 1996 AFCR: Outstanding Invest. Award (Southern Section)
Aug. 1996 American Gastroenterological Association/GRG Young Invest. Award
Feb. 2000 President, Southern Society for Clinical Investigation
April 2000 American Federation for Medical Research: Outstanding Invest. Award
April 2000 E.V. Newman Research Prize; Vanderbilt Univ. Department of Medicine
May 2000 President, Gastroenterology Research Group of the AGA
April 2002 AACR-Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Cancer Research Award
2003-2006 Member of the Board of Directors, American Association for Cancer Research
Aug. 2003 NIH MERIT Grant Award R37-DK47297-11 (2004-2012)
Dec. 2003 University of Chicago; Norman Frankel Visiting Scholar Award
March 2004 Dorothy P. Landon-AACR Cancer Research Prize
May 2004 AGA Distinguished Achievement Award
Sept. 2004 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
July 2006 Anthony Dipple Carcinogenesis Award, Oxford University Press
2008-09 President, American Association for Cancer Research
May 2007 The Johns Hopkins University Society of Scholars
Aug. 2010 President, International Society for Gastrointestinal Cancer
Aug 2011 Catedra Gonzalo Rio Arronte Award, Mexico City, Mexico
July 2013 The Shanghai Cancer Forum Award, Shanghai, China
April 2013 Fellow of the Academy of the American Association for Cancer Research
Oct 2014 The Jeremiah Metzger Lecture for the American Clinical and Climatological
Jan 2015 President and Chair of the American Association for Cancer Research Foundation
Sept 2015 Honorary Member of the Tinsley Harrison Society at Vanderbilt University
April 2017 Inducted as a faculty member of the Gold Humanism Honor Society at MUSC
March 2019 AACR Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer
Oct 2019 Elected to the National Academy of Medicine (USA)
May 2020 Elected as a Fellow to The Royal College of Physicians, London UK